COVID-19 Information

If you have any concerns or questions concerning the Coronavirus (COVID-19); Please call the Minnesota Department of Health (MDH) Hotline at: (651) 201-3920

COVID-19 Preventions for Brown County Buildings

To eliminate the potential spread of the COVID-19 virus we encourage individuals  to do the following:

  • Paperwork. Paperwork should be dropped off in the appropriate dropboxes located at:
        -Law Enforcement Center
        -Community Services Building
       Paperwork is building specific.
  • Call Ahead.  Brown County staff may be able to help you over the phone, or find an alternative way to help you


The Brown County Planning and Zoning Commission will meet via conference call on April 14th 2020 at 9:00 AM. Members of the public who are interested in joining the meeting should contact the planning and zoning office at 507-233-6640 or by sending an email to

Spring Load Restrictions Begin Friday March 06, 2020 at 12:01am Press Release - Map (PDF)

Public Review & Feedback for Brown County Multi-Hazard Mitigation Plan (PDF)

2020 Election Dates - Presidential Primary Nomination Information

As of January 2, 2020 the License Bureau hours are changing. Monday – Friday 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

2020-2021 Minnesota Family Investment Program for Public Review - Comment by Email (PDF)

Documents needed for REAL ID Application Process (Link)

New Property Owner Checklist (PDF)

Prescription Take Back Program (PDF)

MNBID - Bid on County Surplus Equipment

County Board Meeting

Documents are updated the Thursday before a meeting.

County Commissioner Information

State & Federal Officials

Elected Officials for Brown County (Link)

State Representive - District 16B

Term Length: 2 years

Paul Torkelson, Republican- Term Expires: 2021
251 State Office Building
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55155
(651) 296-9303
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website (Link)

State Senator - District 16

Term Length: 4 Years

Gary Dahms, Republican Term Expires: 2021
95 University Avenue W.
Minnesota Senate Bldg, Room 2111
St. Paul, MN 55155
(651) 296-8138
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Website (Link)

US Representative - District 1 

Term Length: 2 years

Jim Hagedorn, Republican Term Expires: 2021
325 Cannon HOB
Washington DC, 20515
(202) 225-2472

11 Civic Center Plaza, Suite 301
Mankato MN 56001
Website (Link)

US Senators

Term Length: 6 years

Tina Smith, Democrat Term Expires: 2021

Washington, DC Office
309 Hart Senate Office Building
Washington, DC 20510
 (202) 224-5641
Website (Link)

Amy Klobuchar - Democrat     Term Expires: 2025
425 Dirksen Senate BUilding
Washington DC 20510
(202) 228-2186
(888) 224-9043

 1200 Washington Ave S, Suite 250
Minneapolis MN 55415
Main Line (612) 727-5220
Website (Link)

Contact Brown County Ditch Authority

Petitions for Repair/Improvement/Abandonment

Jean Prochniak, Auditor-Treasurer - 507-233-6616

Assessment Billings/Benefits

Auditor-Treasurer's Office - 507-233-6613

Drainage Repairs  - Ditch Inspector

Brown County Highway Department - 507-233-5702

Contact Auditor-Treasurer Office


Brown County Courthouse
14 S State Street
PO Box 115
New Ulm, MN 56073-0115

Located on the 2nd floor, Rm 206
Hours: 8 am – 4:30pm Weekdays

Telephone: (507) 233-6613
Fax: (507) 359-1430

Email County Auditor-Treasurer


Telephone: (507) 233-6614

Email Brown County Elections



Data Practices:

Salary Compliance Notice:

Performance Measure Report:


Office Hours: 8am to 4:30pm (most offices)

Main Office Phone: 507-233-6600

Courthouse Address:
14 S State St
New Ulm, MN 56073

Individual Office Hours may vary.


© 2020 Brown County, MN. All Rights Reserved.