Brown County Of Minnesota

Commitment to Excellence through Leadership, Teamwork, and Education

Child Care General Licensing Information

Print

People who want to provide child care in Minnesota must have a License from the Department of Human Services.

IT IS A MISDEMEANOR TO PROVIDE CHILD CARE WITHOUT A LICENSE

Under Minnesota Statutes, section 245A.03, subdivision 2, there are 2 exceptions to this: You may care for your relatives' children (includes grandchildren, nieces, nephews, etc) plus one unrelated family without having to be licensed.

You may provide unlicensed child care for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12 month period. The state of Minnesota requires someone to have a family child care license if he/she is caring for children from more than one family that is not related to them.

Getting Started:

Enrollment Forms:

Child Care Newsletters:

Infant Forms:

Training Links:

Resources and Information:

Other Provider Forms:

 


Translator

Resize Page

Copyright Brown County 2015:   Brown County maintains this web site to enhance public access to County information. This is a service that is continually under development and we will make every effort to keep this site current. Neither Brown County nor any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information on this web site and should not be deemed reliable for legal purposes. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this site, contact the Brown County Webmaster