Brown County Of Minnesota

Commitment to Excellence through Leadership, Teamwork, and Education

Programs and Services


Available Programs and Services, Including Funding Sources

Developmental Disabilities is a division of the Brown County Social Services Department, providing services to children and adults who have developmental disabilities. We believe that each person is a unique and valuable individual and deserves to be treated with respect and dignity. We believe that the people we serve are capable people and that they have the right to self determination in living their lives.

Day Programs

  • Adult Day Care Assistance
  • Day Training and Habilitation (DT&H):

    These services are directed at the development and maintenance of life skills and community integration and are coordinated with the person's residential habilitation services by the County social worker

  • Extended Employment or Community Based Employment:

    Extended employment is offered in sites in various employment settings in the community. Community based employment may offer an individual a single employment site or multiple sites in which they are given the opportunity to work alongside non-disabled individuals at a competitive wage. Job coaching is provided. Individuals are deemed eligible based on an assement conducted by the Division of Vocational Rehabiilitation and approval by the county.

Support Services

  • Personal Care Attendant (PCA):

    PCA services include assistance with eating, bathing, dressing, personal hygiene, and activities of daily living, as well as meal preparation and housekeeping chores essential to the health and welfare of a child/adult.

  • Semi-Independent Living Services (SILS):

    This is a Brown County/State program that provides support services to individuals who are living or planning to live outside of their family home. A SILS counselor assists the individual in a variety of areas to live independently.

  • Family Support Grant Program:

    This statewide program is supported through a MN State Grant and administered by counties. This program provides a cash grant to families of children under the age of 21with certified disabilities who have been certified as disabled.. The goal of the program is to enable the family to access disability services and supports, prevent or to delay the out-of-home placement of children with disabilities and, promote family health and social well being by assisting families to access services and supports.

  • Waiver Services:

    Waiver programs were designed to provide options to traditional support services, prevent institutionalization and assist individuals to live as members of the community. The waiver programs meet the needs of targeted populations based on eligibility requirements specific to each waiver program. Individuals must meet financial and social service eligibility to receive waiver funding.

  • Foster Care Program:

    Residential service for five or fewer adults or children that provides food, lodging, protection, supervision and support services to an individual with disabilites.

  • Intermediate Care Facility for the Developmentally Disabled (ICF/DD):

    These are group habilitation homes, licensed by the MN Department of Health and the MN Department of Human Services for six or more individuals. They provide 24-hour supervision and health or rehabilitative services for persons with developmental disabilities.

Funding Sources

  • Private Health Insurance
  • Medical Assistance (MA):

    This is a federal program that pays for medical care and some support services for low income families or individuals 18+ years of age; or individuals certified as disabled. Depending on income, a medical spenddown or parental fee may be assessed.

  • Tefra (Tax Equity and Financial Responsibility Act of 1982):

    This program provides medical assistance for children with qualifying disabilities who live with their families and do not qualify for MA because family income is too high. Only the child's income and disability are used to determine eligibility. However, there may be a parental fee assessed.

  • Medical Assistance for Employed Persons with Disabilities (MA-EPD):

    This program provides medical assistance for people with disabilities who work, at little or no cost.

  • Minnesota Supplemental Aid (MSA):

    Provides additional cash grant to supplement SSI/RSDI income for anyone living in the community who is blind, or for other eligible persons with disabilities over the age of 18.

  • Housing Support (formerly known as Group Residential housing - GRH):

    Funding for room and board in certain licensed programs such as assisted living or corporate foster care sites to assist individuals with low income and disabilities pay for their housing costs.

  • Supplemental Security Income:

    Cash benefits payable to children with qualifying disabilities whose families have very limited income. At age 18, family income is no longer a factor for eligibility.

  • Retirement & Survivors Disability Insurance (SSI):

    Individuals may be eligible for disability benefits under social security if they have a qualifying disability and have worked enough to pay into social security or are eligible for benefits under a parents plan. Social Security Administration Website



Resize Page

Copyright Brown County 2015:   Brown County maintains this web site to enhance public access to County information. This is a service that is continually under development and we will make every effort to keep this site current. Neither Brown County nor any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information on this web site and should not be deemed reliable for legal purposes. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this site, contact the Brown County Webmaster