Brown County Of Minnesota

Commitment to Excellence through Leadership, Teamwork, and Education

Physical Disability and Brain Injury Services


This division of the Brown County Social Services Department provides long term care consultation and case management services to assist people 18-64 years of age with physical disabilities and/or brain injuries in gaining access to needed medical, social, educational, and other services, regardless of the funding source.

Long Term Care Consultation for People

MNChoices Assessment for People Under Age 65 (Link)

MnCHOICES is a Web-based application that is comprehensive and integrates assessment and support planning for people who need long-term services and supports in Minnesota. MnCHOICES embraces a person-centered approach to ensure services meet each individual's strengths, goals, preferences and assessed needs.

MnCHOICES is for people of all ages who have any type of disability or need for long-term services and supports (LTSS). The MnCHOICES assessment replaces the following assessment tools:

  • Developmental disability screening
  • Long-term care consultation assessment
  • Personal care assistance assessment
  • Private duty nursing assessment (to be included in a future enhancement)

A MNChoices Certified Assessor visits the person in their home and there is no charge for this service. Persons that are income eligible are offered Home and Community-Based Services (also referred to as waiver services). These programs are designed to support disabled people in their efforts to remain living as independently in the community as possible.

For more information or to make a referral, call (507) 359-6500 and ask for the Intake Worker.

MnCHOICES Initiative fact sheet (PDF)

List of Waiver Programs

The following is a list of the different waiver programs that are targeted to specific age groups and specific types of disabilities:

  • Community Alternative Care Waiver (Link to DHS) - Community Alternative Care Waiver (CAC) - Serves disabled individuals under the age of 65 who require hospital level of care
  • Community Alternatives for Disabled Individuals Waiver (Link to DHS)- Community Alternatives for Disabled Individuals Waiver (CADI) - Serves disabled individuals under the age of 65 who would otherwise require the level of care provided in a nursing facility
  • Brain Injury Waiver (Link to DHS) - Brain Injury Waiver (BI) -Serves individuals under the age of 65 with a brain injury and significant cognitive and behavioral deficits who would otherwise require the level of care provided in a specialized nursing facility or neurobehavioral hospital
  • Managed Care Organization: South Country Health Alliance - Brown County is a member of the South Country Health Alliance (SCHA) and offers case management for enrollees receiving waiver services case management to coordinate the provision of health and long-term care services to an enrollee among different health and social service professionals and across settings of care including, but not limited to, needs assessment, prior approval, care communication, coordination and risk assessments.

South Country Health Alliance (SCHA) is a county-based health plan serving 12 counties in Minnesota. These counties are Brown, Dodge, Freeborn, Goodhue, Kanabec, Morrison, Sibley, Steele, Todd, Wabasha, Wadena, and Waseca. SCHA was formed in 2001 to improve the way its members receive health care.

  • Relocation Service Coordination Targeted Case Management (Link to DHS) - Relocation Service Coordination Targeted Case Management (RSC-TCM) is a type of targeted case management for eligible recipients residing in eligible institutions who want to move into the community. RSC–TCM helps a recipient who resides in an eligible institution to plan, arrange and gain access to needed medical, social, educational, financial, housing and other services and supports that are necessary to move from an eligible institution to the community.

Relocation Service Coordination services include implementation of a service plan including referrals and coordination of service providers; client and collateral contacts necessary for the implementation of the plan; monitoring, and advocacy.



Resize Page

Copyright Brown County 2015:   Brown County maintains this web site to enhance public access to County information. This is a service that is continually under development and we will make every effort to keep this site current. Neither Brown County nor any of its employees, makes any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any legal liability or responsibility for the accuracy, completeness, or usefulness of any information on this web site and should not be deemed reliable for legal purposes. If you have any questions or concerns regarding this site, contact the Brown County Webmaster