Advisory Committee

Public Health Advisory Committee

Citizens representing all areas of the county, who are appointed by the County Board of Commissioners, to advise, review, and recommend to the County Board, all programs, policies, budgets and staffing for the Public Health Department. Members of the Advisory Committee represent the citizens of their community or population groups, and serve as liaisons between Public Health and the communities.

Advisory Committee Members are key people in each community for citizens to contact and give feedback and suggestions for Public Health programs and services. All residents of the county are eligible to serve on the Advisory Committee, that meets regularly on the second Wednesday of every other month, from 12:30 - 2:00 PM, at the Public Health Offices in New Ulm. If interested, contact your community representative or your County Commissioner.

To become a Public Health Advisory Committee Member please contact the Public Health Director at 507-233-6820 or contact your County Commissioner for consideration.

Committee Members:

  • Diane Evers- Sleepy Eye Citizen
  • Lindsey Beyer- Springfield Citizen
  • Dr. Collins- Medical Consultant
  • Marianne Schotzko- Comfrey Citizen
  • Trish Homan- New Ulm Citizen
  • Lisa Miller- Hanska Citizen
  • Makenna Wendorf- New Ulm High School Student
  • Helen Fischer-Cathedral High School Student
  • Sheila Wurtberger- School Board Member – Sleepy Eye
  • Dr. Stephen Gilles/Dr. Brian Lovig- Jail Health Medical Advisors
  • Nathanael Mayhew- Ministerial  
  • Tony Berg- County Commissioner
  • Annie Braun- Human Services Representative
  • Patti Pelzel- RN
  • Sandy Sellner- RN

Contact Public Health

Director: Jaimee Brand

Located at the Community Services Building in New Ulm

1117 Center Street
New Ulm, MN 56073

Telephone: (507) 233-6820
(888) 359-2809
Fax: (507) 233-6819

Reporting Foodborne Illness

Brown-Nicollet Environmental Health: (507) 934-7096
Minnesota State Hotline: (877) 366-3455

find us on facebook badge 400x4001


Mission Statement

Commitment to Excellence through Leadership, Teamwork, and Education


Department Directory

Hours: 8am to 4:30pm
(most offices)

Courthouse Address:
14 S State St
New Ulm, MN 56073