Brown County election officials have identified and are addressing a processing error where some mail ballot voters received balloting materials with mismatched outgoing and signature envelopes for the August 13 State Primary Election.  Out of an abundance of caution, it was decided to direct our print vendor to send replacement balloting materials to all mail ballot voters to preserve data integrity and ensure a fair election.   Mail ballot voters must use the replacement ballot, signature envelope and return envelope and return their ballot to the Brown County Auditor-Treasurer’s office by 8 p.m. on Tuesday, August 13, 2024, for their vote to count.  Downloadable Press Release

Child Care Licensing

 

Help for Licensed Family Child Care Providers

Background Study Fee: When licensing for family child care, your are required to do background studies on all individuals ages 13 and over that live or work in the child care program. The background study fee is $42 per individual. A fingerprinting fee of $9.50 per person will also be charged at the fingerprinting site for each adult and only minors ages (13 to 17) who:

  1. are paid by the provider to assist in the care of children or to work directly with children in care; or
  2. live outside of Minnesota, or
  3. have lived outside of Minnesota at any time in the last five years, or
  4. have a Minnesota criminal record, or
  5. there is reasonable cause to believe that they may have a criminal record in another

Fire Marshal Inspection Fee: For those applicants who have an attached garage or free standing solid fuel heat appliance or want to provide care in their basement; there is a $50.00 fee for a Fire Marshal Inspection.

Brown County Child Care Licensing Fee: Brown County Commissioners have currently waived child care licensing fees until further notice.

You will need to enter which county you are looking for child care to create a list of licensed providers.

People who provide childcare in Minnesota must have a license from the Minnesota Department of Human Services. It is a misdemeanor to provide childcare without a license. However, under state law there are two exceptions to this rule:

  • You may provide unlicensed child care for children who are related to you, and children from one single unrelated family.
  • You may provide unlicensed childcare for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12-month period.

Both licensed and legal unlicensed family child care providers may be “registered” to provide care to children whose parents are eligible to receive childcare subsidy. Such registration allows providers to receive payment from the Child Care Payment Department based on state and county guidelines. For more information, contact a Child Care Assistance Worker at 507-359-6500.

Contact Us

Mailing Address:
Brown County Human Services
1117 Center Street PO Box 788
New Ulm, MN 56073

Physical Address:
Community Services Building (CSB)
1117 Center Street
New Ulm

Map & Directions

Office Hours: 8:00am to 4:30pm
Monday through Friday (excluding holidays)

Human Services Director: Anne Broskoff

Telephone: (507) 354-8246 or
1 (800) 450-8246

TDD Phone Number: (507) 359-6505, for the hearing impaired

Fax General: (507) 359-6542
Fax Financial: (507) 359-4146

Email: frontdesk1@co.brown.mn.us

Completed forms and applications may be delivered to our office in one of four ways:

  1. Dropped off at our office during open hours.
  2. Put in the drop box in our parking lot anytime. Please place in an envelope with your name and who it should go to. The box is emptied several times throughout the business day. If you need original verififications returned, please note on the document
  3. Mailed to our PO Box listed above
  4. Scanning and emailing all documents to.

Financial Woker: help123@co.brown.mn.us
Child Support Worker: childsupport@co.brown.mn.us
All other documents: frontdesk1@co.brown.mn.us

No English Graphic

 

Translate

Mission Statement

Commitment to Excellence through Leadership, Teamwork, and Education

Contact

Department Directory

Hours: 8am to 4:30pm
(most offices)

Courthouse Address:
14 S State St
New Ulm, MN 56073